About Jarmo

About Jarmo Hoogendijk, teacher & musician

Jarmo Hoogendijk

Jarmo, son of a Dutch father and Finnish mother, was born on March 28, 1965, in Den Helder, the Netherlands. At the age of 6, after hearing a record of Louis Armstrong, he decided to become a jazz trumpeter. When he was 9, Jarmo received his first trumpet and soon started taking trumpet lessons in the local music school, and joined the local brass band, a brass quintet and a chamber orchestra. While in high school, he taught himself improvisation by playing along with jazz records every day until midnight. In 1982, just before leaving high school, professional duties began to call and he got hired in several funk and Latin bands.

In 1983, Hoogendijk began his studies at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague with trumpeter/flugelhorn player Ack van Rooyen. Still during his music studies, he made a name for himself with the Ben van den Dungen/Jarmo Hoogendijk Quintet. He also performed with the Latin group Nueva Manteca and as solo trumpeter with The Netherlands Concert Jazz Band, The Dutch Jazz Orchestra and AVRO big band The Skymasters.

Pianist Rein de Graaff enlisted Jarmo in the Rein de Graaff/Dick Vennik Sextet and engaged him for concerts with jazz musicians such as Teddy Edwards, Charles McPherson and Frank Morgan. He performed in so-called trumpet summits, including with Clark Terry, Benny Bailey, Lew Soloff and Philip Harper. He played with Freddie Hubbard in a television appearance with the Metropole Orchestra and was in close contact with Woody Shaw, who resided in the Netherlands in 1987-88.

After graduating cum laude with Ack van Rooyen, Hoogendijk also began a career in music education, at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague and Codarts Jazz Academy in Rotterdam (both since 1990), and as of 2018 also at the Conservatory of Amsterdam. Well-known trumpeters who have studied with Jarmo include Jan van Duikeren, Teus Nobel, Rob van de Wouw, Michael Varekamp and the entire trumpet section of the Metropole Orchestra (consisting of Rik Mol, Nico Schepers, Martijn de Laat and Ray Bruinsma).